Sunday, October 14, 2007

Good Nobel candidates, who won't win

Once again, the Nobel Peace Prize committee in Oslo has made a political award designed to support the committee's own political predilections, but not any actual notion of real peace. For an example of their idiocy, consider that the committee rewarded the man who lost the Cold War, Mikhail Gorbachev, but not the man who won it and did the most to end it, Ronald Reagan. This is merely one instance. Here are some others in the postmodern internationalist world of the Nobel Committee:

1992 = Guatemalan fraud Rigoberta Menchu, who had been exposed no less than two years earlier as a fake
1994 = Yassir Arafat, a career terrorist
2000 = Kim Dae Jung, for his Neville Chamberlain approach to North Korea
2001 = Kofi Annan, the man who single-handedly prevented international intervention in Rwanda in 1994, and the United Nations, which has failed in Lebanon, Darfur, Rwanda, and the Congo in the past 15 years alone
2002 = James Earl Carter, Jr., coddler of dictators, hater of Israel, who did more to harm the West in four years than the KGB managed in 45 and who aided Islamofascism more than any other Westerner by failing to aid Reza Pahlavi in 1977-79.
2005 = The IAEA and Mohamed El Baradei, whose failures in the face of North Korean, Libyan and Iranian nuclear weapons programs will destabilize the world for decades

and now 2007, Al Gore, Jr. and the IPCC whose laughably wrong climate change analysis has been repeatedly debunked by professional climatologists, geologists, physicists; and whose prescriptions for alleviating the non-problem would cripple the world economy.

The WSJ's list of potential candidates for next year is far better than the committee's recent choices.

No comments: